So, since I am unable to quite watch a new movie until six, which should hopefully happen unless life comes up, I am going to write out some lists about my top five something movie related. Top five in this first case is musicals. My top five musicals in no particular order as well mind you. They are subjective, but comment if you have some suggestions, or disagree with my choices. :)
5. Fiddler on the Roof:
Why? Well, because I have many good memories to this musical. To start, my grandpa used to go around singing this silly musical all the time. If I were a rich man was his favourite, and I agree. It is a fantastic musical, and song. My favourite song from it is to life( to life le chiem, le chiem le cheim to life). I did this musical in my grade nine year, and boy was it ever fun. That was our cast party song, our favourite scene in the play, and the song two members of our cast revamped to be a rap song. ( the ghettos in Russia, there version was brilliant). We even made a cast version dance to that song, and I remember attempting to do said dance on a table, and almost breaking the table at my school.
4. The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Why? It's strange, it pushes borders, it's offensive and sexual and murderous, and boy is it ever funny. How one can watch this movie without either laughing, crying or doing the time warp astounds me. It is clever, very well written, with cheesy effects and hilarious situations. The house and freaks are to die for, the couple is innocent and broken, and all in all it's just a wild fun ride. I think this is one that's only good watching in a costume in the dead of night, or your missing the experience.
3. The wall: by Pink Floyd
Why? Well one because I love the album, the wall. Which is the entire movies basis, it's even in the same order. I wonder which was written first sometimes. The music is ground breaking, creepy, off putting and depressing. It makes you feel squirmy and off, but boy does it make you feel. My favourite song is called blue skies I believe, and I cannot listening to it without reminiscing on how my past was so much different, more innocent. But not better, just finished. As well, this movie has almost no speaking, but the scenes in it are great. The hammers marching, the flowers urmm, well if you've seen it I'm sure you understood. It's brilliant.
2. Across the universe
Why? Well, to start I figured a musical that is happy is not such a bad idea. I love the Beatles, and I think they did a brilliant song making the song sound new, but also paying homage to the band. There were a ton of little side references to the Beatles in the movie, such as the girl who came through the window, the obvious tripping out, the hippie era and the starving musicians part. My favourite bit is happiness is a warm gun, which is right after the recruitment part. It was well acted, well sung, and brings a smile and a tear to me every time.
1. Moulin Rouge.
Why? I'm just reminding you now this is not my favourite. All five of these are. They are equal. That said, I hold a special place for this movie. I always watch it when I have relationship problems because it shows me I do not have it terribly off. It also gives me an excuse to bawl my eyes out which is nice. The singing of roxanne, originally by the police, is friggen amazing. It's on my iPod, and is played more than Beiber on the radio, not by me. I love Ewan mggregor, and Nicole Kidman, plus the quirky way the story and film is made is brilliantly funny, but melancholy. You know the whole time it's upsetting, but boy do you ever love the ride.
MRO- not a catscan
Wednesday, August 3, 2011
Tuesday, August 2, 2011
Night of the Living Dead
On to the review. I am not giving movies a value, a number of stars or an x/ 10 rating. I'm just going to write about how much I do, or do not enjoy them, and the parts I really enjoy.
Storyline- is simple, but it needs to be I think. It's a horror movie, you can certainly see how it spawned modern takes. The idea of holding up a barricaded house is monumental in filmstory ( history of film, I love making up words) to Zombie films, and good horror movies. Many a suspense has been built of the tensions of people locked inside a small home. Think the shining, dawn of the dead, if you want to stretch this idea, the cube and resident evil 1, the newest one with a guy - 127 hours or something. It I have not seen, but I know the premise.
Characters. The main character, I believe it's rob, but I have awful hearing, so it may be Ron, Rod or many another R like names, was fantastic. He was likable, smart, charismatic and caring where as all of those around him are selfish scared bastards. I don't like them very much, I must say. There is a balding white man, I didn't care to learn his name. He was a selfish, egomaniac who only wanted to help himself, but he also had a side where you could see he was scared for his younger daughter, and for himself. He even shows remorse, so he's not a villain. No one really is, they just aren't perfect. There are also some woman, a country boy, and a child. They do nothing, and the things they do do spoil the movie. Should I spoil it? Okay spoiler alert! The child is a zombie, the woman are useless, and stupid. I hate how the females are portrayed, as dead weight. I would have just killed the shrieker if I had been R man ( the protagonist)
Specific moments I enjoy:
- when the black guy hits the balding man, and shrieker, the crazy lady. He made me smile.
- the zombies eating the burned flesh, om nom nom, human flesh anyone. Even better is the scene with the entrails, they look like play dough.
- I like the ending, it works. I wouldn't nave it any other way I think, though ( SPOILER) its not exactly happy, it's apt.
-the zombie child, she is amazing.
- the first zombie just chilling in the background.
Observations:
- woman cannot run, drive, or follow a road in a car. They are useless according to Georgie.
- men think of woman as dead weight.
- shotguns solve all, but head shots are bonus points.
- that this is a black rights activist movie, and that R guy is the Samuel Jackson of the sixties/ fifties.
- Americans with guns are silly.
- no, BRAINS, what?
- I love entrails, mmm tasty :)
- Cheers
Storyline- is simple, but it needs to be I think. It's a horror movie, you can certainly see how it spawned modern takes. The idea of holding up a barricaded house is monumental in filmstory ( history of film, I love making up words) to Zombie films, and good horror movies. Many a suspense has been built of the tensions of people locked inside a small home. Think the shining, dawn of the dead, if you want to stretch this idea, the cube and resident evil 1, the newest one with a guy - 127 hours or something. It I have not seen, but I know the premise.
Characters. The main character, I believe it's rob, but I have awful hearing, so it may be Ron, Rod or many another R like names, was fantastic. He was likable, smart, charismatic and caring where as all of those around him are selfish scared bastards. I don't like them very much, I must say. There is a balding white man, I didn't care to learn his name. He was a selfish, egomaniac who only wanted to help himself, but he also had a side where you could see he was scared for his younger daughter, and for himself. He even shows remorse, so he's not a villain. No one really is, they just aren't perfect. There are also some woman, a country boy, and a child. They do nothing, and the things they do do spoil the movie. Should I spoil it? Okay spoiler alert! The child is a zombie, the woman are useless, and stupid. I hate how the females are portrayed, as dead weight. I would have just killed the shrieker if I had been R man ( the protagonist)
Specific moments I enjoy:
- when the black guy hits the balding man, and shrieker, the crazy lady. He made me smile.
- the zombies eating the burned flesh, om nom nom, human flesh anyone. Even better is the scene with the entrails, they look like play dough.
- I like the ending, it works. I wouldn't nave it any other way I think, though ( SPOILER) its not exactly happy, it's apt.
-the zombie child, she is amazing.
- the first zombie just chilling in the background.
Observations:
- woman cannot run, drive, or follow a road in a car. They are useless according to Georgie.
- men think of woman as dead weight.
- shotguns solve all, but head shots are bonus points.
- that this is a black rights activist movie, and that R guy is the Samuel Jackson of the sixties/ fifties.
- Americans with guns are silly.
- no, BRAINS, what?
- I love entrails, mmm tasty :)
- Cheers
About me :)
My name is Samantha, I am a girl, and I have a passion for movies, this is my way of sharing this with the world. I'm unsure if it will ever impact someone, but I cam only hope, and just keep posting. Because I am doing this for me, to truly explore my love of old, weird, obscure and even mainstream films. I hope to update once a day, but this may be unrealistic. Keep in touch if you enjoy my reviews, and be sure to leave comments. :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)